

Northern Sydney and Beaches Hockey Association Inc Minutes of Annual General Meeting Monday 23 November 2020, 7.00pm Forestville RSL, 22 Melwood Ave, NSW 2087 (or electronically via Avaya Spaces)

Meeting opened at 7.00pm

1. Present and Welcome

David Johnston (NSBHA President)	Tilly Simpson (Mirrabooka HC)	
Diana Brown (NSBHA Secretary)	Sue Pickering (Manly Warringah Hockey)	
Jeremy Boyse (NSBHA Facilities Convenor)	Kristina Turner (Hornsby HC)	
Sharon Johnston (NSBHA Reps Convenor)	Gabrielle Whelan (Mirrabooka)	
Christine Cannon (NSBHA Treasurer)	Matthew Hill (WHA)	
Cathy Clark (NSBHA Competitions)	Sarah Gibbons (GNS)	
Michaela Yates (Mosman Harbourside)	Fiona Telfer (UTS)	
Nick Johnston (GNS)	David Gilbert (UTS Curl Curl)	
Mark Hewitt-Park (Mosman HC juniors)	Jay van Son (Manly Warringah)	

Attendance - electronically

Kim Dunkin (Manly, NSBHA Masters)	Virginia Meikle (Hornsby HC)	
Caralyn Talyor (NSB/UTS)	Anne McCraith (Mosman Harbourside, NSB Masters)	
Cristina Cannon (Manly Warringah)	Heidi Tobin (Seaforth HC)	
Elizabeth Bewsher (Mosman Harbourside)	Elliot Temple (GNS)	
Heidi Worner (Warringah HC)	Martin Bishop (NSB Masters, Manly, Mosman)	
Annelie Kruger (NSB Masters)	Chris Pope (GNS)	
Becky Bland (Manly Warringah)	Lyn Williams (NSB Masters)	
Karen Champion (NSBHA General Committee)		

2. Apologies

Suzi Litchfield (NSBHA General Committee)	Paul Economides (UTS)
Sarah Evans (WHA)	Danielle Leong (Mosman)

3. Minutes from the previous Annual General Meeting

Secretary advised the Minutes of the 2019 AGM were amended to include the post AGM event whereby the accounts were adjusted to allow for accrual accounting. There were no other matters arising from the previous AGM.

Motion 1:

That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 18 November 2019 be approved as a true and accurate record.

Proposed : Mark Hewitt-Park Seconded : Kristina Turner



Result: Moved and passed unanimously

4. New Business

a). Presentation of 2020 Annual Report

The 2020 Annual Report was presented at the meeting. It was noted that 2020 was a very difficult and unique year with the impact of Covid-19. DJ acknowledged all the extra effort by the Club administrators in preparing Covid Safety plans and other related matters to get our members back playing safely.

The lack of representative hockey across all age groups was noted.

DJ provided commentary on the proposed hockey field at Barra Brui, St Ives. The project was transferred in June 2020 from the Strategty team to the Cost and Design team at Ku-ring-gai Council. This new team are working hard to get the project over the line. Community Consultation conducted in early October 2020 – overall the response was positive, however the local residents within 500m are strongly opposed to the development with the biggest issues being likely increase in traffic and lack of adequate parking. Council are exploring additional car parking spaces at the northern end (Hunter Ave) to mitigate this issue.

Question was raised from the floor about the membership income in the accounts. It was noted that NSBHA had received approximately \$42,000 in membership income prior to 18 July 2020 which relates to member's fees for 2020 and 2021. Half of this income has been included in the accounts for this year, and the other half will be included as income for 2021. This is in line with similar accounting treatment adopted by HNSW.

Motion 2:

That the 2020 Annual Report be accepted as tabled.

Proposed : Kristina Turner Seconded : Mark Hewitt-Park

Result: Moved and passed unanimously

b). Election of office bearers for 2021

Secertary acknowledged the invaluable service DJ and CC have provided to NSBHA over the last 6 years and on behalf of the NSB community expressed deep gratitude.

Positions on the 2021 Executive Committee were declared vacant (unless continuing) and voted on as follows:

2021 President

Nomination received by Diana Brown. Seconded by: David Johnston

Outcome: There being no other nominations, Diana Brown was elected as Presisdent.

2021 Treasurer

Nomination received by Gabrielle Whelan. Seconded by: Sharon Johnston

Outcome: There being no other nominations, Gabrielle Whelan was elected as Treasurer.



2021 Secretary

Nomination received by Sarah Gibbons. Seconded by: Christine Cannon

Outcome: There being no other nominations, Sarah Gibbons was elected as Secretary.

2021 Representative Convenor

Nomination received by Mark Hewitt-Park. Seconded by: David Gilbert

Outcome: There being no other nominations, Mark Hewitt-Park was elected as Representative Convenor.

2021 Development Convenor

Nomination received by Danielle Leong. Seconded by: Mark Hewitt-Park

Outcome: There being no nominations, Danielle Leong was elected as Development Convenor.

2021 Facilities Convenor

Jeremy Boyse is continuing in this role as Facilities Convenor.

2021 Competitions Convenor

Cath Clarke is continuing in this role as Competitions Convenor.

2021 General Committee Member

Nomination received by Karen Champion. Seconded by: Gabrielle Whelan

Outcome: There being no other nominations, Karen Champion was elected as General Committee Member.

2021 General Committee Member

Nomination received by Jay van Son. Seconded by: Mark Hewitt-Park

Outcome: There being no other nominations, Jay van Son was elected as General Committee Member.

c). 2021 membership registration and fees

DB proposed the membership fees for 2021 remain unchanged. Those members who registered prior to 18 July 2020 will not pay any NSBHA fees in 2021 as part of the special Covid incentive.

Motion 3:

That the fee structure for 2021 be set at the following rates:

Membership fees	Base rate	GST	Total fee (GST inclusive)
per member			
U9	\$10.00	\$1.00	\$11.00
U11	\$20.00	\$2.00	\$22.00
U18	\$30.00	\$3.00	\$33.00
Over 18	\$45.45	\$4.55	\$50.00

Proposed: Diana Brown Seconded: Kristina Turner

Result: Moved and passed unanimously



5. Other Business - Development plans for 2021

DB noted that we are all looking forward to normal hockey activities returning in 2021. Key priorities for the committee will be the ongoing pursuit of local hockey Facilities both indoor and outdoor with Barra Brui being the most important breakthrough; provision of representative opportunities, local hockey competitions, development activities and holiday clinics.

JB also referred to the Business Plan 2020 -2022 which is available to download from the NSBHA website.

Question raised about how much involvement NSB has in the promotion of the WHA competition at Curl Curl. It was noted that brief commentary of the WHA competition was made in the Competitions part of the Annual Report but that more detail should be provided in the future. That the Competitions were promoted in the Return to Hockey emails sent to all NSB members but possibly more could be done on social media.

6. Date of next AGM

That the 2021 Annual General Meeting be held on Monday 29 November 2021, unless called earlier.

Result: Moved and passed

7. Close of Meeting

Meeting closed: 7.50pm

Kind regards

Sarah Gibbons Secretary NSBHA